The following bibliography was borrowed, with permission, from the William Stafford Literary Archives.
Down in My Heart (based on his experiences as a conscientious objector), Brethren Publishing House, 1947

West of Your City, Talisman Press, 1960

Traveling through the Dark, Harper & Row, 1962

The Rescued Year, Harper & Row, 1966

The Achievement of Brother Antoninus (edited by William Stafford), Scott, Foresman, 1967

Friends to this Ground: A Statement for Readers, Teachers, and Writers of Literature, National Council of Teachers of English, 1967

Eleven Untitled Poems, Perishable Press, 1968

Weather: Poems, Perishable Press, 1969

Allegiances, Harper & Row, 1970

Temporary Facts, Duane Schneider Press, 1970

Poems and Perspectives, Scott, Foresman, 1971

Poems for Tennessee (With Robert Bly and William Matthews), Tennessee Poetry Press, 1971

Down in My Heart (based on his experiences as a conscientious objector), Brethren Publishing House, reprinted, 1971

In the Clock of Reason, Soft Press, 1973

Someday, Maybe, Harper & Row, 1973

That Other Alone, Perishable Press, 1973

Leftovers, A Care Package: Two Lectures, Library of Congress, 1973

Going Places: Poems, West Coast Poetry Review, 1974

The Earth, Graywolf Press, 1974

North by West (With John Meade Haines), edited by Karen Sollid and John Sollid, Spring Rain Press, 1975

Modern Poetry Of Western America: an Anthology, Brigham Young University Press, 1975

Braided Apart (With son, Kim Robert Stafford), Confluence Press, 1976

I Would Also Like to Mention Aluminum: Poems and a Conversation, Slow Loris Press, 1976

Late, Passing Prairie Farm: A Poem, Main Street Inc., 1976

The Design on the Oriole, Night Heron Press, 1977

Stories That Could Be True: New and Collected Poems, Harper & Row, 1977

Smoke's Way (chapbook), Graywolf Press, 1978

All about Light, Croissant & Company, 1978

A Meeting with Disma Tumminello and William Stafford, edited by Nat Scammacca, Cross-Cultural Communications, 1978

Passing a Creche, Sea Pen Press, 1978

Tuft by Puff, Perishable Press, 1978

Two about Music, Sceptre Press, 1978

Tuned in Late One Night, The Deerfield Press, 1978, The Gallery Press, 1978

Writing the Australian Crawl, University Of Michigan Press, 1978

The Quiet of the Land, Nadja Press, 1979

Around You, Your Horse & A Catechism, Sceptre Press, 1979

Absolution, Martin Booth, 1980

Things That Happen When There Aren't Any People, BOA Editions, 1980

Passwords, Sea Pen Press, 1980

Wyoming Circuit, Tideline Press, 1980

Sometimes Like a Legend: Puget Sound Country, Copper Canyon Press, 1981

A Glass Face in the Rain: New Poems, Harper & Row, 1982

Roving across Fields: A Conversation and Uncollected Poems 1942-1982, edited by Thom Tammaro, Barnwood Press Cooperative, 1983

Smoke's Way: Poems, Graywolf Press, 1983

Segues: A Correspondence in Poetry (With Marvin Bell), David Godine, 1983

Listening Deep: Poems (chapbook), Penmaen Press, 1984

Stanza Press (With others), Stanza Press, 1984

Stories and Storms and Strangers, Honeybrook Press, 1984

Wyoming, Ampersand Press, Roger Williams College, 1985

Down in My Heart (based on his experiences as a conscientious objector), 2nd edition, Bench Press, 1985

Brother Wind, Honeybrook Press, 1986

You Must Revise Your Life, University of Michigan Press, 1986

An Oregon Message, Harper & Row 1987

You and Some Other Characters, Honeybrook Press, 1987

Annie-Over (With Marvin Bell), Honeybrook Press, 1988

Writing the World, Alembic Press, 1988

A Scripture of Leaves
, Brethren Press, 1989

Fin, Feather, Fur, Honeybrook Press, 1989

What the River Says (video), TTTD Productions, 1989

Kansas Poems of William Stafford, edited by Denise Low, Woodley Press, 1990

Hearing Voices (with Roland Flint), Willamette University, 1991

How to Hold Your Arms When It Rains, Confluence Press, 1991

Passwords, Harper Perennial, 1991

The Long Sigh the Wind Makes, Adrienne Lee Press, 1991

History is Loose Again, Honeybrook Press, 1991

Getting the Knack (with Stephen Dunning), National Council of Teachers of English, 1992

My Name is William Tell, Confluence Press, 1992

Seeking the Way (with illuminations by Robert Johnson), Melia Press, 1992

The Animal That Drank Up Sound (a children's book, illustrated by Debra Frasier), Harcourt, Brace, Jovanovich, 1992

The Life of the Poem (video), TTTD Productions, 1992

Who Are You Really Wanderer?, Honeybrook Press, 1993

The Darkness Around Us Is Deep
(ed. Robert Bly), HarperCollins, 1993

William Stafford and Robert Bly: A Literary Friendship (video), Magnolia Films, 1993

Holding onto the Grass, Weatherlight Press (England), 1994

Learning to Live in the World: Earth Poems by William Stafford, Harcourt Brace, 1994.

Listening to the River: Seasons in the American West (with Robert Adams), Aperture, 1994.

The Whole Wide World Pours Down
, Library of Congress, 1994

The Methow River Poems, Confluence Press, 1995.

The Methow River Poems, (cassette), read by Garrison Keillor, Naomi Nye, and William Stafford TTTD Productions, 1996

Even in Quiet Places, (collected small press poems), Confluence Press, 1996

The Methow River Poems, (video), TTTD Productions, 1997

The Last Reading, 13 August 1993, (compact disk), TTTD Productions, 1997

Traveling through the Dark, Weatherlight Press (England), 1997

Crossing Unmarked Snow (ed. Paul Merchant and Vincent Wixon), University of Michigan Press, 1998

The Way It Is, New and Selected Poems, Graywolf Press, 1998

Down In My Heart (3rd ed., w/ intro. by Kim Stafford), Oregon State University Press, 1998

A Scripture of Leaves (rev. 2nd ed., w/ intro. by Wendell Berry), Brethren Press, 1999

William Stafford: An Exhibit Catalog and Bibliography, Watzek Library, Lewis & Clark College, 2000

You Reading This, Be Ready, Cedar Fence Press, 2000

Early Morning: Remembering My Father William Stafford, by Kim Stafford, Graywolf Press, 2002

The Answers are Inside the Mountains (ed. Paul Merchant and Vincent Wixon), University of Michigan Press, 2003

Every War Has Two Losers (ed. Kim Stafford), Milkweed Press, 2003

The Unknown Good in Our Enemies, (compact disk), TTTD Productions, 2003

William Stafford Life and Poems, DVD containing "What the River Says" (1989), "The Life of the Poem" (1992) and "The Methow River Poems" (1997), TTTD Productions, 2004

The World Speaks Everything to Us: Seven Poems 1933-1993 (broadside portfolio), Paper Crane Press for the Friends of William Stafford, 2004

Traveling through the Dark (intro. by Kim Stafford), Urban Editions, 2005

Down In My Heart (4th ed., w/ intro. by Kim Stafford), Oregon State University Press, 2006

Another World Instead (early poems of WS, edited by Fred Marchant), Graywolf Press [2008], in production

< Back to Writings -